Skip to content ↓
Kingsnorth Primary School

KingsnorthChurch of England Primary School

Explaining the Early Learning Goals

At the end of Year R (the Foundation Stage), each child will be assessed against 17 key areas called the Early Learning Goals (ELG's). This is known as the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Profile. For each early learning goal, practitioners must judge whether a child is meeting the level of development expected at the end of the Reception year (‘expected’), or not yet reaching this level (‘emerging’).

The completed EYFS Profile also includes a short commentary on each child’s skills and abilities in relation to the three key characteristics of effective learning. This will support future curriculum planning and will provide the Year 1 teacher with important information about each child’s approach to learning.

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old.

All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.


There are assessments when a child is aged between 2 and 3 years and at the end of the academic year when they turn 5. These are not tests for the child - the assessments are based on EYFS practitioners’ observations.

Information from these assessments is used for parents, practitioners and teachers to support children’s learning and development.

Early years learning concentrates on 7 areas split between prime and specific areas of learning, however they are not be used as checklists as each child develops at their own rate and in their own way, similarly children do not need to have achieved every part of each ELG to be deemed as at the expected level of development. Teaching is often done through play, where the child learns about subjects and other people through games.

The prime areas of learning are:

communication and language
physical development
personal, social and emotional development

The specific areas of learning are:

understanding the world
expressive arts and design

Further Information For Parents

Read more about EYFS for parents on the Foundation Years website. It shows you how you can support your child during the foundation years and what you can expect from the professionals working with your child.